Bosnia and Herzegovina is located in the central part of the Balkan Peninsula. North, west and south-west boundary lines divide BiH from the Republic of Croatia, and east and south boundary lines from the Republic of Serbia. The coastal line of Bosnia and Herzegovina lies upon the Adriatic Sea, around the town of Neum, and is about 21 km long.

Bosnia and Herzegovina is a compound state, which in line with the General Framework Agreement for Peace in BiH, consists of  the  Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina (51% of territory) and the Republika Srpska (49% of territory). The Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina consists 10 Cantons that further consist of the municipalities. Republika Srpska is administratively divided on regions and further on municipalities.

Brcko, which was a subject of disputes and international arbitrage, was proclaimed a district. Thus, Bosnia and Herzegovina has two entities and Brcko District.

Parliamentary Assembly is the highest legislative authority in BiH. It comprises the House of Representatives and the House of Peoples.

House of Representatives has 42 members, two-thirds being elected from the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina  and one–third  from the Republika Srpska.

House of Peoples has  15 delegates, two-thirds coming from the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina  (five Croats and five Bosniacs) and one–third from the Republika Srpska (five Serbs).

Constitution of Bosnia and Herzegovina

Capital: Sarajevo
Area: 52.280 sq km
Population: 4.354.911 (1991)
Lowest point: grad Neum, 0 m
Highest point: Maglić, 2386 m
Coastal line: 21,2 km

JSN Nuru template designed by